School Board President John Hischer swears in board members Darren Belisle, Kiara Selmer, Jaime Bricker during a special meeting on Oct. 7, 2016. Photo Courtesy of Skagway School District

By Suzanne Ashe


Two newly elected school members and one student representative were sworn in to office during a special meeting on Friday, Oct. 7.

Newcomer Jaime Bricker received the most votes and will serve a three-year team and incumbent Darren Belisle will serve a two-year term on the board. Kiara Selmer will serve as a student representative for the school year.

John Hischer will continue as board president and Cara Cosgrove as vice president, and chair of the education committee.

“I absolutely put my name in for president again. I have really enjoyed that position and if you do want me to, then I will make sure everyone has a voice and will facilitate meaningful discussion and make sure everyone is heard,” Hischer said.

The board unanimously voted for Hischer to remain as president, Cosgrove to remain as vice president. Darren Belisle will remain as treasurer and chair of the finance committee. Mary Tidlow remains as clerk and chair of the public relations committee.

Bricker was voted in as member-at-large and the chair of the policy committee, she will also serve on the education committee.

The board also approved 75 old desks to be designated as surplus. The desks are now available to members of the public,

Hailey Huggins is the new Spirit Squad leader.

“She’s got a strong dance background. She is really excited about working with kids. She will have no problem choreographing routines. We talked about the first full routines for the basketball games in January,” said Superintendent Josh Coughran.

“I think it’s really neat, and it does add a lot of excitement to the basketball games,” Hischer said.

The board voted unanimously to hire Huggins.