Click HERE for the full Buckwheat Ski Classic results

Whitehorse skiers made up the majority of top-three finishers in the 2017 Buckwheat Ski Classic, though one Skagway youth made her peers work hard for their victory.

In the 50k Men Race, Colin Abbott from Whitehorse won first place (while also sporting bib #1). David Greer and Matthias Purdon – also of Whitehorse – ranked second and third, respectively

Kendra Murray placed first in the Womens’ 50k, with Laura Salmon placing second and Sarah Murray taking third. All three women are from Whitehorse.

Philippe Mouchet of Whitehorse took first place in the 25k Men Race, with Gerard Frostad of Whitehorse following in second, and Tim Blust of Juneau taking third.

In the 25k Women Race, Sara Nielsen, Pippa Lawson and Jan Downing of Whitehorse took first, second and third.

The 10k Men Race saw Arne Ellefson-Carnes of Douglas take first, Finn Morley of Juneau take second and Aaron Blust of Juneau take third.  The 10k Women Race had Erin Wallace of Juneau take first, Hayley Henderson-Thur of Whitehorse capture second and Elizabeth Ramseth of Juneau rank third.

In the kids’ races, Ross Sennett, Felix Masson and Louis Mouchet, all from Whitehorse, claimed first, second and third in the 11-12 Boys 5k.

The 11-12 Girls 5k saw another triplicate of Whitehorse winners, with Kate Mason wining first, Maude Molgat taking second and Abigail Jirousek capturing third.

In the 10 & Under Boys 5k, Nicholas Connell, John Chisholm and Johna Irving-Staley of Whitehorse took the first three spots.

Eleanor Setterington of Whitehorse took first in the 10 & Under Girls 5k. Kalia Graham of Whitehorse won second and Wynter Radey-Morgan of Skagway captured third.

Ann MacKenzie of Whitehorse came in first in the 5k Rec race.

For the full Buckwheat results and more photos of the race, visit