Tim Salter, the director of senior programs in the community, was announced the winner of the 31st annual Helen B. Clark Award for Skagway Community Service. The award was announced during a presentation at the Recreation Center’s Ugly Sweater Dance on Dec. 16.

Reading from a compilation of nominating statements from local seniors, presenter Jeff Brady said that even though Salter is a paid employee, “he is a caring person who gives his heart and soul for a special group of people in our town 24/7, 365 days a year.”

“As the face of Catholic Community Services in Skagway for nearly two decades, he is an invaluable part of our senior community,” Brady said. “He cooks for them at our senior lunches, taking special care with their diet restrictions and producing wholesome and appetizing meals. He’s always available to help, whether it’s helping fill out paperwork or picking up their mail. More important, he knows how to lift their spirits.”

Salter is always available to provide rides for seniors, including to the Ugly Sweater Dance, Brady concluded. Following the announcement, Brady called Salter come up to receive his award, a large antique wood “T.”

Salter was surprised by the announcement, and could only muster a “thank you” to those assembled.

In addition to Salter, two other new nominees were recognized for their service to the community: JoAnn Arnold, aka “Mama Jo,” who has been a terrific volunteer for the local Elks, Eagles and Skagway Chamber of Commerce; and Donna Snyder Griffard, aka “BellaDonna,” who has also been a great volunteer with Paws & Claws, the Skagway Arts Council and the Yuletide Committee.

The late Helen Clark was the first recipient of Skagway’s Community Service Award and agreed to have future awards named for her so generations would remember her volunteer spirit. The award recognizes outstanding volunteer deeds or service to the community. It is jointly sponsored by the Skagway Book Co. and The Skagway News. Every fall, nomination letters are accepted from the public and then a committee of past winners reviews nominations from the past five years and selects a winner.