By Lilly Milman

The annual nomination period for the Helen B. Clark Community Volunteer Award is open until Saturday, Nov. 30. The honor, now in its 34th year, is awarded for a resident’s significant volunteer work in Skagway.

“The nomination letters are always really heartfelt,” said award coordinator Jeff Brady.

Nomination letters are limited to 500 words and the award is open to full-time and seasonal residents.

In addition to this year’s nominees, anyone nominated within the past five years will also be considered in the selection process. Winners receive a plaque with their initials, handmade by Brady using antique wooden letters from the time when type was set by hand and papers printed one sheet at a time.

After nominations are closed, Brady said he gathers a committee of as many former winners as he is able to assemble. Each person ranks the nomination letters and the highest-ranked one wins. Brady also said he likes to honor all nominees with a certificate at the end of the process.

The recipient of the award will be announced in The Skagway News in December.

Former honorees include JoAnn Arnold, Tim Salter, Wayne Greenstreet and Buckwheat Donahue, in addition to the award’s namesake.

Brady described the first-ever recipient, Helen Clark, as an “easy choice,” and someone who was always working behind the scenes to help the community. “She was active in just about every club in town.”

When he first started organizing the award 33 years ago, Clark had recently been diagnosed with cancer, Brady said. She agreed when asked if he could name the award in her honor.

Nomination letters may be dropped off at Skaguay News Depot & Books, mailed to PO Box 498 in Skagway, or emailed to For more information, contact Brady at 973-2354.